Come and meet cochlear implant users

Cochlear implant candidates
It has been just over a year since I had my cochlear implant switched on. If has made a huge difference to my life, enabling me to hear much better and communicate without constantly struggling with my wife and family.

It has also given me much more confidence in social situations and family gatherings. Whereas before, I would make constant excuses about not going out and mixing with groups of people as I found it too frustrating and isolating, now I am going out again, meeting new people and attending social gatherings.

Having a cochlear implant is not a miracle cure for deafness and everyone’s experience of having one is different depending on your previous knowledge and perception of sound, among other things, but all I can say is that in my case it has been truly life-changing. I can now listen to music again, which I hadn’t been able to in years and I can use the phone again and speak to my family, which I hadn’t been able to do for about five years since I first started to lose my hearing.

I’ve recently become a cochlear implant mentor for AB, the company who made my cochlear implant. The idea of being a mentor is to meet with anyone considering having a cochlear implant and just to chat with them informally about anything they want to ask me about cochlear implants, whether it is the implantation process and what to expect after the switch-on, or what it is like now for me as a cochlear implant user.

We’re having one of these informal meet-ups soon on 8th August in London for potential cochlear implant candidates, so if you or someone else you know is a cochlear implant candidate, why don’t you come along? There’ll be a few of us there and we’ve all got our own personal experiences of being cochlear implant users. We’d love to see you there, have a chat with you and share our experiences with you.

When I was going through the cochlear implant assessment process, I spoke to quite a few cochlear implant users who talked about what it meant for them to have a cochlear implant and how it had changed their lives. I wish I had also had a mentor at the time to help talk me through it.

If you’re interested in coming along, please contact Ben Leigh from the advert above. We look forward to seeing you there!

3 thoughts on “Come and meet cochlear implant users

  1. jeanette wright July 30, 2015 / 1:17 pm

    I am currently having assessment for CI at Addenbrookes and would have loved to attend but unfortunately I am busy that day but please do let me know if you are holding any more – I live in Colchester Essex and willing to travel

    • Richard Turner July 30, 2015 / 8:05 pm

      Hi Jeannette,

      Thanks for your comments. OK we will let you know if we plan to hold any more. Good luck with your assessment!

      Richard

      • jeanette wright July 30, 2015 / 8:53 pm

        thank you – I have had all the tests and I meet the criteria – seeing speech and language therapist on Wednesday then they make their decision one day I am really excited then the next day scared but I know I have nothing to lose by having it done but hopefully lots to gain. regards Jeanette

Leave a Reply

