Rediscovering sound – like meeting up with an old friend

Richard Turner

Richard CI_beer

After six weeks of anxiously waiting after my cochlear implant operation and hoping so much that it was going to work, I finally had my switch-on last week.

So much has happened in those last six weeks that I don’t really know where to begin to tell you. I thought it would be very difficult and very isolating trying to adjust to living in a world of total silence and tinnitus again. I’m not going to lie to you. It has not been easy and I have got through watching the first three subtitled series of ‘Game of Thrones’ on DVD followed by the complete series of ‘House of Cards’ while recovering at home. I can highly recommend both of them, by the way. But it wasn’t half as scary or as isolating as when I first lost my hearing four years ago.

The difference this time is that I…

View original post 1,145 more words

6 thoughts on “Rediscovering sound – like meeting up with an old friend

  1. Liz August 3, 2014 / 5:17 pm

    Glad to hear it went well Richard. Best wishes to hearing sounds and a start of a new journey.

  2. Richard Turner August 3, 2014 / 5:43 pm

    Hi CJ. Hope you’re well. Great to see you at the picnic. Would love to have a beer and a chat with you soon. Take care.

Leave a Reply

