Making cinema more accessible

Today my friend and I went to test new personal subtitling technology in a Central London cinema, along with many other deaf and hard of hearing people. One of the big things I have missed since becoming deafened is the ability to just go to my local multiplex cinema with my wife and make a choice of which film to watch there and then. I have really missed going to the cinema, as the choice of which films and show times I can now watch is extremely limited and normally not at suitable times. This means that until recently I had only watched one subtitled film in the last three years.

Today’s experience was extremely positive. This new technology will mean that in the future, we will be able to watch any film at any time. This will give people a better choice of both film and show time, resulting in more people attending the cinema. There is still much more work to be done on this new technology in this country and it is still not available in cinemas nationwide. Hopefully, in the not too distant future, I will be able to enjoy a nice meal with my wife on a Friday evening, followed by a good film at my local multiplex.

Cinema

5 thoughts on “Making cinema more accessible

  1. vera March 19, 2013 / 12:47 pm

    Hi Richard, is it possible to find out more about the technology that you tested? Thanks

    • Richard Turner March 19, 2013 / 4:59 pm

      if you google cinema personal subtitling will bring up a result.I am not allowed to talk about the tech. It is far from perfect but i think it is a positive step in making film much more accessible.

  2. iheartsubtitles March 19, 2013 / 12:49 pm

    Hi Richard. I too was part of this trial. Without giving too much away as asked by the CEA its hard to comment but I wanted to say for me it was a very mixed bag. Pros and cons. I hope that the CEA publish feedback we gave soon. I did enjoy the opportunity to try something new.

    • Richard Turner March 19, 2013 / 4:56 pm

      I enjoyed it. Yes i agree pros and cons. It will never be film subtitles but personally i would use the glasses system.It is a big miss for me going to the cinema.Think it is a case of wait and see. However I think that technology has massive potential and is viable.

      • iheartsubtitles March 19, 2013 / 5:29 pm

        I agree that technology is exciting. I think access technology is becoming more mainstream thanks to the explosion of screen use such as smart phones, tablets etc becoming more and more the norm for all kinds of people for everyday use. In theory this mainstream technology could be used in a similar way – I have info on my blog about this if you are curious and I also wonder if Google glasses project could have a positive impact too. The more competition out there the better as far as I am concerned 🙂

Leave a Reply

